Building a new desktop.

Everything tech-related is discussed here

Moderator: Global Moderator

HeJurmhoanni
N3O Officer
N3O Officer

Building a new desktop.

Post by HeJurmhoanni »

Im thinking of getting a new desktop but since im a total newbie with computers ive got loads of questions to start with.

I have no idea where to start. What should i be thinking about first and in what order should i do this process?

Ive heard that building the desktop from pieces is better than buying a prebuilt set. Why is this and what are the advantages for both of those?

What can i do with my old computer? Could i use some of its parts if im building the new one from pieces? Can i sell it and where could i sell it? I have this CPUID CPU-Z thing that aaryn recommended so i can show u the specifics of my computer via it if needed. Also should i get a new monitor and how much it would cost?

Coma talked about i think it was Windows license or sth? What is this and what can i use it for if i had it?

How much would it cost to get a desktop that can run starcraft2 with highest settings with good fps?

I will post more questions when these are answered. Any other tips and advice are welcome. TY for your help!
joe4holly
N3O Officer
N3O Officer

Re: Building a new desktop.

Post by joe4holly »

First off how much you got to spend on it ?

You are right that building your own  is a lot better and cheeper too. It not that hard to do, just take your time. You will need to buy windows 7 for a product key to intall windows 7, you be looking at 64bit version so you can have 4GB ram +.